Media Advisory

Ottawa, ON – Canadian performers are celebrating ACTRA’s 75-year anniversary with ACTRA Ottawa hosting an awards gala for performers and industry guests on Saturday, October 27.

Event:            ACTRA Ottawa Awards Gala

Date:              Saturday, October 27, 2018

Time               7:00-10:00 p.m. (Award presentation at approx. 8:30pm)

Location:      Ottawa Art Gallery, Alma Duncan Salon, 10 Daly Avenue

The ACTRA 75th anniversary and ACTRA Ottawa Awards presentation to include the 2018 Lorraine Ansell ACTRA Award of Excellence and the 2018 ACTRA Ottawa Woman of the Year Award.

John Koensgen will receive the 2018 Lorraine Ansell ACTRA Award of Excellence. John’s career has spanned more than four decades in front of the camera and on stage in the Ottawa area and across Canada. He has also served on the board of ACTRA, Canadian Actors’ Equity Association, the board of the Great Canadian Theatre Company and on the City of Ottawa Arts Advisory Committee.

Ottawa actor and media personality Katherine Dines will receive the 2018 ACTRA Ottawa Woman of the Year Award. Katherine uses her voice a to help many local organizations including CHEO, The Youth Services Bureau, Children’s Aid Society, The Royal Mental Health Centre, Hopewell Eating Disorder Support Centre, The Humane Society of Ottawa, The University Of Ottawa Heart Institute and The Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre.

ACTRA (Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists) is the national union of professional performers working in the English-language recorded media in Canada. As an advocate for Canadian culture since 1943, ACTRA represents the interests of 25,000 members across Canada – the foundation of Canada’s highly acclaimed professional performing community.

For more information please contact:

Chris Cornish, Branch Representative
t. (613)565-2168  m. (613)292-5193